Boards and Committees

The Village of Stevensville has a number of Boards, Commissions and Committees that make decisions and provide guidance for decision making. Some meet regularly, while some meet only as needed. For more information about each board, commission and committee, read the Village of Stevensville Boards and Commissions Handbook.

Check the Village Calendar to get updates on meeting dates and times. If you have any questions regarding a Board, Commission or Committee, call Village Hall at 269-429-1802 or email us at [email protected] 

If you are interested in serving on a board, commission or committee, fill out an application.

    1. Village Council
    Composed of seven elected officials who live in Stevensville, the Village Council is responsible for making policy decisions for the village, passing the budget, and has final approval of the master plan, village ordinances and other documents pertaining to the village.

    The Village Council holds workshops to discuss agenda items at 6:00 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month. Council meetings begin at 7:00 p.m. after the workshop. The public is welcome to the workshop and council meeting that follows.

    For more information about Village Council, visit their webpage.     

    2. Planning Commission

    The Planning Commission is responsible for drafting the Stevensville Master Plan; writing the first draft and reviewing amendments to zoning ordinances. They meet as needed on the first Thursday of the month at 5:30 p.m.

    For more information, visit the Planning Commission page.

    3. Zoning Board of Appeals

    The Zoning Board of Appeals is responsible for interpreting the village zoning ordinance, hearing and deciding zoning decision appeals, and granting use and non-use variances. The Zoning Board of Appeals meets as needed when zoning appeal applications are received by the village.

    Board members: Bruce Arter - Chairperson, Ken Hansen, Scott Meyer, Alternate: Dawn Howley

    4. Parks Committee

    The Parks Committee is responsible for assisting in the development of the Community Parks and Recreation Plan. The Parks Committee meets as needed.

    Members: Barbi Hoge, Linda Steinberger, Dawn Howely

    5. Southwest Michigan Regional Sanitary Sewer and Water Authority

    The Southwest Michigan Regional Sanitary Sewer and Water Authority (Water Authority) is responsible for providing municipal water to homes, businesses, and industries within the City of St. Joseph, Lincoln Charter Township, Royalton Township, St. Joseph Charter Township, Village of Shoreham and Village of Stevensville. 

    The Water Authority meets at 7 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month.
     Village of Stevensville council member, Carl Steinberger, is the village representative.

    6. Twin City Area Transportation Study (TWINCATS)

    TwinCATS is the designated Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Benton Harbor-St. Joseph urbanized area and encompasses 14 jurisdictions in Berrien County, including the Village of Stevensville.

    TWINCATS meets the third Monday of each month at 9:00 a.m. Consulting company Abonmarche is the Village representative.

    7. Downtown Development Committee

    The Downtown Development Committee (DDC) acts as the events committee for the village. They help organize community events that take place in downtown Stevensville.

    The DDC meets as needed on the second Tuesday at 5:30 p.m.

    Members: Chris Thompson, Taylor, Justin Schaul, Amanda Pohyba