Our History

Thomas L. Stevens

In 1815, Thomas L. Stevens was born in Tyngaboro, MA. He purchased 160 acres of land, now Stevensville, in 1869. In exchange for having a depot built on part of this land and being named after Stevens, he sold a portion of his acreage for $1 to the Chicago and West Michigan Lake Shore Railroad Company.

In 1870, Thomas Stevens laid a village plat and called it Stevensville. On April 3, 1872 the plat was legally recorded at the Berrien County Court House in Berrien Springs, MI. Passing a resolution, the Senate of the State of Michigan proclaimed the Village of Stevensville a chartered village in March of 1893.

The strongest influence on the formation of a village was the railroad company laying a rail line through this land. With the building of a depot which assured a railroad stop to pick up fruit, the area's strongest industry.

Pioneer & Early Settlers

After much clearing of this wooded land and enduring the hardships of the times, the pioneers and early settlers in this area began to dream about a community settlement. Because these determined people needed, and depended on each other for survival and spiritual strength, religious societies began to meet in farm houses.

Business Beginnings

Small stores providing basic supplies were made available in conjunction with the grist mills. As business-minded men saw the potential of a community budding, other stores and businesses began to sprout in a central area. This community and surrounding area have experienced tremendous changes and growth throughout the years.

The effect of these significant events and persons has set a standard of value in heritage of the area, and serves as a legacy to succeeding generations.